Go To Search
Board of Directors
Board Overview
Since 1967, county officials from across the state and representing every elected county office have volunteered to serve on the governing body of the Arizona Association of Counties. Directors are selected by their peers to hold one of three types of positions on the Board of Directors.

First, the officers of the association are elected at large by the membership of the association at its annual conference to one-year terms. Typically, officers progress through the chairs of the officer posts until becoming President of the association and eventually Immediate Past President.

Second, the elected county officials from each of Arizona's 15 counties elect one county elected official to serve as their geographic county representative to the board. County representatives serve a two-year term of office (odd then even).

Finally, each county elected office holder from across the state meets frequently with their peers from other Arizona counties. We call these informal and formal associations of county officer groups "affiliates". Each year, the affiliates identify a representative of their peer group, who represents that county elected office on the AACo Board for a two-year term (even then odd).

Executive Officers 
  • The Honorable Robyn Pouquette, Yuma County Recorder - President
  • The Honorable Leslie Hoffman, Yavapai County Recorder - First Vice President
  • The Honorable Michael McCord, Pinal County Treasure - Second Vice President
  • The Honorable Sarah Benatar, Coconino County Treasurer  - Third Vice President
  • The Honorable Cathy Traywick, Cochise County Treasurer - Immediate Past President

2019 Directors

County Representatives
  • Apache- The Hon. Jay Yellowhorse, Justice of the Peace 
  • Cochise- The Hon. David Stevens, Recorder
  • Coconino- The Hon. Armando Ruiz, Assessor
  • Gila- The Hon. Roy Sandoval, School Superintendent
  • Graham- The Hon. Darlene Alder, Assessor
  • Greenlee- The Hon. Linda Durr, Assessor
  • La Paz- The Hon. Shelly Baker, Recorder
  • Maricopa- The Hon. Steve Watson, School Superintendent 
  • Mohave- The Hon. Virlynn Tinnell, Superior Court Clerk
  • Navajo- The Hon. Brad Carlyon, Attorney 
  • Pima- The Hon. Beth Ford, Treasurer
  • Pinal- The Hon. Kent Volkmer, Attorney
  • Santa Cruz- The Hon. Suzie Sainz, Recorder
  • Yavapai- The Hon. Donna McQuality, Superior Court Clerk
  • Yuma- The Hon. Joe Wehrle, Assessor

NACo Board Representative
  • The Hon. Brad Carlyon, Navajo County Attorney
Affiliate Representatives
  • Assessors- The Hon. Douglas Wolf, Pinal County
  • Attorneys-The Hon. Bill Ring, Coconino County 
  • Clerks of the Superior Court- Valerie Wyant, Coconino County
  • Constables- The Hon. Mike Branham, Maricopa County 
  • Justices of the Peace- The Hon. Cathy Riggs, Maricopa County
  • Recorders- The Hon. Patty Hansen, Coconino County
  • School Superintendents- The Hon. Risha VanderWey, Coconino County
  • Sheriffs- The Hon. Leon Wilmot, Yuma County
  • Supervisors- The Hon. Russell McCloud, Yuma County
  • Treasurers -The Hon. Angela Moreno, Yuma County